Castle of Tereglio

The small village of Tereglio has a unique urban structure, stretched out on a steep ridge flanked by two streams.

Tereglio was fortified with surrounding walls consisting of the houses that make up the village and two fortresses in proximity to the main access points. Today the foundations of the first fortress in the homonymous town are recognisable, while no trace remains of the second that probably stood near the church. Two gates in blocks of well-worked sandstone also remain: the north-west gate, where it is possible to recognise crossbow loops that open on each side of the barrel vault and the simple opening of the middle one in a single barrel vault with a stretch of the defensive walls alongside it.

The Church of Santa Maria Assunta (XIII cent.) is worth a visit because it houses several works: the Cross on wood attributed to Berlinghiero Berlinghieri; the Angel of the Annunciation dating back to the fourteenth century and attributed to the workshop of Piero D'Angelo; a Madonna and Child Enthroned by Tuscan workers in the XIII century; and Santa Rosalia and Child attributed to Pietro Paolini.

Taking the road, which was constructed by the engineer Giacomo Marracci for Maria Luisa of Bourbon, Duchess of Lucca, and which is still called via del Duca, you can reach the Oasis and Nature Reserve of Botri, where you can visit the ''Orrido" to discover the golden eagle and other rare animal and botanical species. Continuing, the road leads to the Rifugio Casentini and then to Foce Giovo, from where excursions depart from Monte Rondinaio to the Tre Potenze.

Historical notes

Documented since 856, the town of Tereglio has ancient origins that refer to some members of the coterie of nobles from Corvaia and Vallecchia, noble lineages linked to the powerful Porcaresi family.

Lucca obtained full ownership of the town from the heirs of Castracani in 1371, following a substantial cash payment and commitment to maintain the defensive structures.

In the early XV century, Paolo Guinigi ordered that Tereglio castle be sufficiently equipped and that the defensive structures be in good repair; in 1413 the reconstruction of the tower was decreed.

The castle was damaged by the armies of Florence in 1429, but in the following century, back in the hands of Lucca, it was restored by the military architect Vincenzo Civitali.

The wars against the Este family, which lasted until 1613, were among the last military actions in which Tereglio was involved.


Castle of Tereglio, bell tower
Castle of Tereglio, access entrance
Castle of Tereglio